Wednesday, December 8, 2010

A dream transit plan for Ottawa...


I'm just going to post this picture (from Adam Bentley on SkyscraperPage Forum, via @dbmcclelland) and let everyone dream of how awesome it would be to have such a great rapid transit network. Forget, for the moment, how ridiculously expensive it would be to operate, let alone build in it entirety.

One odd note: Not even this dream-plan uses the Prince of Wales Bridge. Not sure why, but it's an interesting thing to avoid.

15 comments:

David McClelland said...

It actually looks like it does use it, only for the commuter rail line up to Wakefield, rather than for LRT.

Dwight Williams said...

We can indeed dream.

And we should.

Whatever plan(s) we decide on using, let's make sure our dreams are big enough!

@Cfarlcliffe said...

Why couldn't we adopt this as the official transit plan and figure out how to start working towards it? Let's make this the 40-50 year plan and get going on it. We need a big vision of what transit could look like that everyone can get behind instead of a short line that doesn't inspire anyone except those living near the line.

Shoot for the moon Ottawa!

Eric S. Smith said...

Hmm, how does the BRT make it from Holland and Carling over to Merivale between Carling and Baseline? It seems to turn south well before the Westgate Shopping Centre. Is it supposed to be taking a meandering route through the residential streets, like the 14 Carlington? That would make putting the R in BRT kind of challenging. If the goal is to avoid duplicating the Red Line's service from Holland and Carling west to Westgate, it'd be more efficient to go south on Fisher and then west on Shillington to Merivale. Even then, there are plenty of stop signs on Shillington.

Adam B. said...

Regarding the comment by Mr. Smith, as he author, I can tell you that the map is more mental than geographically accurate. In reality, from Holland, the BRT would go west on Caring, and southwest on Merivale. The Westgate Red Line stop would be close to the west end of the mall to accommodate a long platform and the BRT stop would be on Merivale, just across the street from the mall, near the hotel.

Adam B. said...

That should read "as the author" and "west on Carling".

Fay said...

A "great rapid transit network" is of no use to Ottawa until the service catches up. In Stittsville they charge us extra on our taxes for poor bus service and in January they have now cut even more buses. If you don't work a regular day job you are out of luck. Both my early 20's kids have jobs that end at 11:00 p.m. downtown but there are no buses to Stittsville leaving Hurdman after 10:10 p.m. That also means no social life for anyone without a car. All the infrastructure shown in the map won't fix the constant problems of late, or too early, buses, drivers who won't stop when there is room on the bus, and buses that don't go where they are scheduled to go.

Matt Fisher said...

Shouldn't the Southeast Transitway be LRT? Why is nobody asking for this? Does the demand justify its replacement of busway with LRT? I think this should be LRT anyway.

Matt Fisher said...

But seriously, given the success of the Transitway, there will always be Bus Rapid Transit in Ottawa. Ottawa needs an integrated Rapid Transit Network, not endless bickering about which transit mode is better. In fact, I think there should be more BRT in the form of busways with stations and dedicated lanes EVERYWHERE!!! We need more BRT if we want to attract more people to transit. And yes, BRT is cost effective and I won't have to wait 20 years for it to be implemented. The implementation of rail, by contrast, would inevitably take 20 years, given our record.

艾丰 said...

jianbin0412
louis vuitton bags
michael kors canada
kobe shoes
kobe bryant shoes
mulberry outlet
coach outlet store
hermes birkin
beats by dr dre
beats headphones
tiffany and co
herve leger dresses
lebron shoes
michael kors outlet sale
hermes belt for sale
michael kors online outlet
ferragamo outlet
nike air force 1
pandora jewelry
hermes belt
michael kors factory outlet
swarovski crystal
michael kors handbags clearance
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet online
beats by dre
hermes outlet store
fitflop clearance
nike air max uk
tods shoes
louis vuitton outlet store
louis vuitton outlet

Fangyaya said...

coach outlet store online
coach factory outlet
longchamp bags
cheap oakleys
louis vuitton outlet
toms wedges
tiffany rings
adidas nmd
cheap ray ban sunglasses
celine bags
polo outlet
fitflop sandals
burberry sale
louboutin shoes
burberry sale
ray bans
the north face outlet
coach outlet
gucci handbags
louis vuitton handbags
giuseppe zanotti sneakers
ugg outlet
kate spade handbags
moncler outlet
basketball shoes
ralph lauren
coach outlet
true religion outlet online
cheap louis vuitton handbags
moncler coat
uggs outlet
coach outlet online
louis vuitton handbags
adidas stan smith
coach factory outlet
cheap rolex watches
michael kors handbags
cheap ray ban sunglasses
ghd hair straighteners
new england patriots jerseys
20168.11chenjinyan

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

raybanoutlet001 said...

http://www.uggoutlet.uk
retro jordans
huarache shoes
kobe sneakers
nike huarache
adidas tubular
http://www.oakley-sunglass.in.net
skechers shoes
skechers shoes
kobe shoes

Da Lin said...


Longchamp Outlet

NFL Jerseys

Yeezy Boost 350

Jordan 4

Nike Outlets

Longchamp Bags

Nike Air Max 2016

Adidas UK

Nike Outlet

Under Armour

Timberland UK

Jordan 12

Polo Ralph Lauren Outlet

Yeezy

Nike Outlet

Nike Huarache

Keds Shoes For Women

Roshe Run

Yeezy Shoes

Nike Air Max

Ray Ban Outlet

Oakley Outlet

Adidas NMD

Ray Ban Outlet Store

Cheao Jordan Shoes

Toms Outlet

Ultra Boost Uncaged

MLB Jerseys

Ugg Boots Outlet

Kate Spade Outlet

Ugg Boots Outlet

Uggs Outlet

Timberland Outlet

Ray Ban Outlet

Ray Ban Sunglasses

Adidas NMD

Timberland UK

Ralph Lauren

John said...

louboutin outlet
bottega veneta outlet
coach factory outlet online
levi's jeans
puma outlet
michael kors purse
ugg outlet store
pandora charms sale clearance
chaussure louboutin
air max outlet
20161206yuanyuan